WA election 2013

Electorate: Perth

Margin: Labor 7.7%
Region: North Metropolitan
Federal: Perth/Curtin
Click here for electoral boundaries map

The candidates


Labor (top)

Liberal (bottom)



Australian Christians


Electorate analysis: The electorate of Perth extends northwards from the city itself through Northbridge and Highgate to Leederville and North Perth. It has existed without interruption since 1962 and has been held by Labor for all but one term since then, the exception being future Fraser government minister Peter Durack’s win in 1965. It was recovered for Labor in 1968 by Terry Burke, older brother to Brian, who held it until his retirement in 1987. Burke was succeeded at a by-election by Ian Alexander, who quit the party on ideological grounds in 1991 and bowed out at the 1993 election. Former ABC Radio presenter Diane Warnock narrowly retained the seat for Labor in 1993 and served for two terms before retiring in 2001, by which time redistribution had made the seat safer for Labor.

The present member, John Hyde, came to state politics via gay activism and the mayoralty of the inner city Town of Vincent. A member of the “Missos” Left faction, he found himself subjected to preselection threats during his first term from Old Right and Centre rivals, which were a major factor in the ensuing intervention by the party’s national executive to protect all sitting members at the 2005 election. He has not been seriously troubled by such threats since, and finally won promotion to the front bench in April 2009. Hyde was frequently named as a cabinet contender as various ministerial careers fell by the wayside during Labor’s second term in office, but he had to wait until April 2007 to be named parliamentary secretary and until after the election defeat to win his position on the front bench. He currently holds the portfolios of local government, culture and the arts, heritage, citizenship and multicultural interests.

The Liberals have preselected Eleni Evangel, a Perth city councillor.

Analysis written by William Bowe. All post-redistribution margins are as calculated by Antony Green at ABC Elections. Read William’s blog, The Poll Bludger.

Back to Crikey’s Western Australian election guide

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *