WA election 2013

Electorate: Moore

Margin: Nationals 3.1% versus Liberal
Region: Agricultural
Federal: Durack/Pearce
Outgoing member: Grant Woodhams (Nationals)
Click here for electoral boundaries map

The candidates




Australian Christians

Nationals (top)

Liberal (bottom)


Electorate analysis: Moore covers the coast for 550 kilometres beyond the northern boundary of the Perth metropolitan area, extending as far as Kalbarri, with the exception of Geraldton and its immediate surrounds. It further encompasses Gingin, Bindoon and Toodyay to the north of Perth, along with rural centres from Dalwallinu north to Mullewa. It will be vacated at the coming election with the retirement of Nationals member Grant Woodhams, who entered parliament as member for Greenough in 2005. Greenough was abolished at the one-vote one-value redistribution in 2008 and largely absorbed within Moore, initiating a contest at the 2008 election between Woodhams and Gary Snook, the Liberal member for Moore. Snook outpolled Woodhams 40.5% to 32.3% on the primary vote, but with Labor a distant third on 16.7%, their preferences decided the issue in favour of Woodhams by a margin of 3.1%.

Both Moore and Greenough had existed since self-government in 1890, although Moore was abolished between 1904 and 1911 and again from 1930 to 1950. Labor has never held Moore, and only won Greenough in 1924, 1927 and 1943. The victor on the latter occasion, John Verdun Newton, was declared missing in action in a bombing raid over Germany three months later. The by-election eventually held to replace Newton in September 1945 was won by Liberal candidate David Brand, who held the seat throughout a career that included the longest premiership in the state’s history. Both Snook and Woodhams came to their seats in 2005, Snook spending most of his only term on the opposition front bench. Woodhams has served as Speaker of the Legislative Assembly throughout the current term.

Moore will be defended for the Nationals at the coming election by Shane Love, the shire president of Dandaragan. Badgingarra agronomist Chris Wilkins will run for the Liberals, having won a preselection vote in July 2012 ahead of Perenjori shire president Chris King.

Analysis written by William Bowe. All post-redistribution margins are as calculated by Antony Green at ABC Elections. Read William’s blog, The Poll Bludger.

Back to Crikey’s Western Australian election guide