WA election 2013

Electorate: Mirrabooka*

Margin: Labor 8.3%
Region: East Metropolitan
Federal: Pearce/Hasluck
* Name changed from Nollamara in redistribution
Click here for electoral boundaries map

The candidates


Australian Christians


Liberal (bottom)

Labor (top)


Electorate analysis: Mirrabooka is the new name for the electorate of Nollamara, which was created with the one-vote one-value redistribution in 2008 and previously existed as an electorate from 1989 to 2005. The electorate has a reverse L-shape with Nollamara and Westminister as a south-western leg joined to a column of suburbs extending from Mirrabooka north through Koondoola to Alexander Heights. The latest redistribution sees the south-western leg lose Nollamara and its 6800 voters (to Morley in the south) and gain the 5500 in Balga (from Girawheen in the north), while the northern end of the electorate is expanded to encompass 2300 voters in northern Ballajura (from West Swan). Labor’s strength in Balga has been counterbalanced by relative weakness in Ballajura, so that only 0.2% has been added to their margin.

The electorate of Nollamara as recreated in 2008 drew territory from abolished Yokine, which was largely divided between it and Mount Lawley, together with a rearrangement of Girrawheen. It was thus an obvious successor seat for Yokine’s homeless member, Bob Kucera. However, Kucera – factionally unaligned, 63 years old, and with his cabinet days behind him – failed to find support either for Nollamara or Mount Lawley, where Alan Carpenter insisted his hand-picked candidate Karen Brown should run. Kucera at first announced he would run as an independent in Nollamara, but did not come good with the threat. The post-Carpenter ALP has brought him back to the fold, and he will contest Mount Lawley at the coming election.

Nollamara meanwhile went to Janine Freeman, former UnionsWA assistant secretary, after a deal between her own LHMWU Left faction and the Right. There was reportedly a scheme within the LHMWU (now known as United Voice) faction for Freeman to run in Morley, which Labor had lost in anomalous circumstances in 2008. It was evidently anticipated that another factional candidate would be able to win the Mirrabooka preselection, thereby expanding its parliamentary representation. However, no such plan came to fruition, and Morley will again be contested by the unsuccessful candidate from 2008, Reece Whitby.

The Liberals have endorsed Andrea Creado, chief executive of Ishar Multicultural Women’s Centre.

Analysis written by William Bowe. All post-redistribution margins are as calculated by Antony Green at ABC Elections. Read William’s blog, The Poll Bludger.

Back to Crikey’s Western Australian election guide

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *