Electorate: Casey

Margin: Liberal 1.9%
Location: Eastern Melbourne, Victoria

The candidates (ballot paper order)



Family First Party

Labor (bottom)

Country Alliance

Australian Christians


Rise Up Australia

Palmer United Party

Liberal (top)


Held by the Liberals without interruption since 1984, Casey covers Melbourne’s eastern suburban fringe at Lilydale, Kilsyth and Monbulk, together with the Yarra Valley townships of Yarra Glen, Healesville and Warburton and unpopulated Yarra Ranges areas further afield. The Liberal-voting suburban areas are middle-income and culturally homogenous with an above-average number of mortgage payers. Outcrops of Labor support further afield coincide with lower incomes at Healesville, a “tree-changer” tendency around Monbulk, and a combination of the two at Warburton. Healesville and Warburton have been added with the latest redistribution, which has further cut the Liberal margin through the transfer of Croydon and Ringwood to Menzies and Deakin.

Casey was oriented further westwards when it was created in 1969, extending northwards from Ringwood to Kinglake. The bulk of the modern electorate remained in La Trobe, the area having previously been divided between it and Deakin. Casey assumed approximately its current dimensions when the expansion of parliament in 1984 pushed it further east into the Yarra Valley, and the 1990 redistribution added some of its present outer suburbs territory. The seat has been in Liberal hands since its creation outside of two interruptions, from 1972 to 1975 and 1983 to 1984. The inaugural member was Peter Howson, who had previously held the abolished inner urban electorate of Fawkner since 1951. Race Mathews won the seat for Labor with the election of the Whitlam government, going on to lose the seat in 1975 and enter state politics as member for Oakleigh in 1979. Peter Falcolner held the seat for the Liberals through the Fraser years, before being unseated by Labor’s Peter Steedman when the Hawke government came to power in 1983.

Steedman was in turn unseated after a single term by Robert Halverson in 1984, with some assistance from redistribution, and the seat has been in Liberal hands ever since. Halverson’s retirement in 1998 made the seat available as a safe haven for Howard government Health Minister Michael Wooldridge, whose position in Chisholm had been weakened by redistribution in 1996. However, Wooldridge only served a single term before quitting politics at the 2001 election, at which time he was succeeded by Tony Smith. During Smith’s tenure the Liberal margin broke double digits at the 2004 election for only the second time, but he goes into the coming election with a margin of only 1.9% after successive swings and an unfavourable redistribution.

Smith’s entry to politics came through a staff position with Peter Costello, with whom he remained closely associated. After the 2007 election defeat he won promotion to the shadow cabinet in the education portfolio, but Malcolm Turnbull demoted him to Assistant Treasurer when Malcolm Turnbull whe he became leader in September 2008. Smith formed part of the front-bench exodus in the final days of Turnbull’s leadership in protest against his position on an emissions trading scheme, together with Tony Abbott and Nick Minchin. He duly emerged as a strong backer of Abbott in the ensuing leadership contest, and returned to shadow cabinet in broadband and communications. However, Smith was widely thought to have struggled during the 2010 campaign and was demoted for a second time after the election, this time down to parliamentary secretary level.

Analysis written by William Bowe. Read William’s blog, The Poll Bludger.

Back to Crikey’s House of Representatives election guide

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *