Australian Capital Territory Election 2020


Yerrabi encompasses the Gungahlin region of Canberra’s northernmost suburbs, together with the Belconnen region suburbs of Giralang and Kaleen to the south. The redistribution has cost it Belconnen region suburbs of Evatt and McKellar, which go to Ginninderra. The north-western half of the district was in Molonglo under the pre-2016 arrangement, while the south-western end was in Ginninderra. This area is distinguished by large numbers of mortgage-paying young families.

Labor candidates






Labor has three incumbents seeking re-election, of whom two were elected in 2016 and the third filled a mid-term vacancy. The latter arose with the unanticipated retirement in June 2019 of Meegan Fitzharris, previously the Health Minister and a senior figure in the Right, who topped the poll at the 2016 election with 15.2% of the vote and was identified as a likely successor to Andrew Barr as leader.

The second Labor candidate elected after Fitzharris in 2016 was Michael Pettersson (bottom left), a former industrial officer with the CFMEU, who recorded 9.4% of the vote. Pettersson was a member of the Right at the time, but quit the faction in August 2018 amid a rift between the faction and the CFMEU over federal preselections.

Suzanne Orr (centre right) is a former urban planner who was the third Labor member elected in 2016 with 7.3% of the vote. A member of the Left, she was promoted to the ministry in August 2019 in portfolios including community services, disabilities and employment.

Meegan Fitzharris was succeeded on her retirement in June 2019 by Deepak-Raj Gupta (centre left), a former president of the Australia India Business Council who joined the Right faction after entering parliament in June 2019. Gupta recorded the lowest share of the vote of the five Labor candidates in 2016 with 5.8%, but was the only Labor candidate remaining to fill the vacancy as fourth-placed Jayson Hinder, who polled 6.3%, had been killed in a motorcycle accident in California in May 2017. Hinder briefly held a seat in the Ginninderra district from March 2016, when he filled the vacancy created by Mary Porter's retirement, until the election the following October.

Labor's other candidates are Tom Fischer (top right), a legal officer with the CFMEU, and Georgia Phillips (bottom right), an assistant director at the Department of Health.

Liberal candidates






The two Liberal candidates elected in 2016 are both seeking re-election, most notably Alistair Coe (centre left), who first entered parliament in Ginninderra at the age of 24. Coe did exceptionally well to poll 9.8% on debut, which increased to 15.2% in 2012, which reduced to 14.2% on the less familiar turf of Yerrabi in 2016. His emerged as deputy leader in February 2013, when Zed Seselja made his move to federal politics and was succeeded by Jeremy Hanson, and became leader without opposition after the 2016 election, while retaining his existing position as Shadow Treasurer. Coe is noted for conservative views on issues such as same-sex marriage and abortion, causing some to doubt his electoral appeal in the socially liberal capital. It was reported in November 2019 that “up to four” of the 11 Liberal MPs wished to see him replaced by the more moderate Kurrajong MP Elizabeth Lee.

The second elected Liberal in 2016 with 7.6% of the vote was James Milligan (centre right), who previous worked for the Gungahlin Community Council. Milligan has held the indigenous affairs and sport and recreation portfolios in the shadow ministry since his election.

The other Liberal candidates are Leanne Castley (top right), an IT project manager at Citadel Group and federal candidate for Fenner; Krishna Nadimpalli (bottom left), an environmental scientist; and Jacob Vadakkedathu (bottom right), former associated director at KPMG Australia.

Other candidates

The Greens' designated lead candidate in Yerrabi is Andrew Braddock, an environmental engineer. The other candidate on the Greens ticket is Mainul Haque, who is on the federal Department of Employment's National Skills Commission Taskforce.

Other parties running in Yerrabi are the Progressives, Animal Justice, Sustainable Australia, Democratic Labour Party, Pollard (David and Stephanie) and the Federation Party, along with two independents.